Search Search
Translate Translate

Types of Special Educational Need

At The Woodland Federation, we strive to ensure that all pupils, regardless of need, make the best possible progress.  Creating SMILERS who are healthy, happy and hungry to learn.


There are four broad areas of SEND (as defined in the SEND Code of Practice).  These are:


Communication and Interaction

This area of need includes children with Autism Spectrum Condition and those with Speech, Language and Communication Needs.


Cognition and Learning

This includes children with Specific Learning Difficulties, Moderate Learning Difficulties, Severe Learning Difficulties and Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulties.


Social, Emotional and Mental Health Difficulties

This includes any pupils who have an educational, social or mental health need that is impacting on their ability to learn.


Sensory and/or Physical Difficulties

This area includes children with hearing impairment, visual impairment, multi-sensory impairment and physical needs



At our schools within the federation, we have experience of supporting children, and parents, with a wide range of needs, inlcuding

  • General Learning Difficulties - children whose learning progresses at a slower pace
  • Speech and Language Difficulties
  • Behavioural Difficulties
  • Foetal Alcohol Syndrome Disorder (FASD)
  • Dyslexia
  • Dyspraxia
  • Autism
  • ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder - ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyperactivity)
  • Other Physical or Medical Needs